[Bug] DeleteParas
-
- Posts: 27
- Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 7:34 pm
- Location: Europe
[Bug] DeleteParas
Hi,
It was a long time now I reported some bugs here.
But I believe I found a bug in TRichView last versions.
After calling DeleteParas(0, 1); at least one time on a full TRichView a text and displaying the component in a visible window:
List index out of bounds
Best regards,
Jacek
It was a long time now I reported some bugs here.
But I believe I found a bug in TRichView last versions.
After calling DeleteParas(0, 1); at least one time on a full TRichView a text and displaying the component in a visible window:
List index out of bounds
Best regards,
Jacek
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 17555
- Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:28 am
- Contact:
1) Please give step-by-step instructions how to reproduce this problem (or send a sample project to richviewgmailcom)
I tried to reproduce the problem by adding in the ActionTestUni a new toolbar button with the code:
I can see no problems.
2) What exactly version of TRichView do you use?
I tried to reproduce the problem by adding in the ActionTestUni a new toolbar button with the code:
Code: Select all
procedure TForm3.ToolButton71Click(Sender: TObject);
begin
RichViewEdit1.DeleteParas(0, 1);
end;
2) What exactly version of TRichView do you use?
-
- Posts: 27
- Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 7:34 pm
- Location: Europe
I tested on versions: TRichView v14.5.1 and TRichView 14.0 and they contain this error.
Previously I used TRichView 12 and there was no error of this kind. Also TRichView 13 seems not to have it.
I am implementing a rolling log window with TRichView (not TRichViewEdit as in your code). I have TRichView and a TRVStyle and I simply add paragraphs until the limit is reached:
If I set TEXT_LIMIT to 200 for example, the error that will appear will be e.g. List index out of bounds (211).
So the component tries to read an index little larger than the limit.
I hope it explains more.
Previously I used TRichView 12 and there was no error of this kind. Also TRichView 13 seems not to have it.
I am implementing a rolling log window with TRichView (not TRichViewEdit as in your code). I have TRichView and a TRVStyle and I simply add paragraphs until the limit is reached:
Code: Select all
richView->Add(someText, C_NORMAL);
richView->FormatTail();
if(richView->ItemCount > TEXT_LIMIT)) {
richView->DeleteParas(0, 1);
}
So the component tries to read an index little larger than the limit.
I hope it explains more.
-
- Posts: 27
- Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 7:34 pm
- Location: Europe
I forgot about AddNL it might have some impact so it looks more like:
Code: Select all
richView->AddNL(Now().FormatString(timestamp), C_TIME, 0);
richView->Add(someText, C_NORMAL);
richView->FormatTail();
if(richView->ItemCount > TEXT_LIMIT)) {
richView->DeleteParas(0, 1);
}
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 17555
- Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:28 am
- Contact:
I tried to reproduce it. Created a new Delphi project, placed RichView1 and RVStyle1, linked RichView1 to RVStyle, added a button with the code:
No error.
But I have TRichView version modified since TRichView 14.5.1.
Today I plan to upload the update, so you will be able to test with a new version.
But, for any case, can you post a stack at the moment of exception?
(compile your application with the compiler options: Optimization: Off, Stack frames: On); when the exception occurs, go View | Debug Windows | Call Stack, Ctrl+A to select, Ctrl+C to copy)
Code: Select all
procedure TForm1.Button1Click(Sender: TObject);
begin
richView1.AddNL(DateTimeToStr(Now)+' ', 1, 0);
richView1.Add('I am implementing a rolling log window with TRichView (not TRichViewEdit as in your code). I have TRichView and a TRVStyle and I simply add paragraphs until the limit is reached', 0);
richView1.FormatTail;
if richView1.ItemCount > 20 then
richView1.DeleteParas(0, 1);
end;
But I have TRichView version modified since TRichView 14.5.1.
Today I plan to upload the update, so you will be able to test with a new version.
But, for any case, can you post a stack at the moment of exception?
(compile your application with the compiler options: Optimization: Off, Stack frames: On); when the exception occurs, go View | Debug Windows | Call Stack, Ctrl+A to select, Ctrl+C to copy)
-
- Posts: 27
- Joined: Tue Jun 20, 2006 7:34 pm
- Location: Europe
Hi Sergey,
Yes I will be able to do it. I will need to also change the version I am using as now. I installed version 3.x to avoid the issue.
Please note that you are using limit 20. I suggested limit 200 because it was more realistic test with the control being scrolled vertically. (My real limit in my application in production is 7000)
I have also set the flag richView->Options << rvoScrollToEnd;
Jacek
Yes I will be able to do it. I will need to also change the version I am using as now. I installed version 3.x to avoid the issue.
Please note that you are using limit 20. I suggested limit 200 because it was more realistic test with the control being scrolled vertically. (My real limit in my application in production is 7000)
I have also set the flag richView->Options << rvoScrollToEnd;
Jacek
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 17555
- Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:28 am
- Contact:
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 17555
- Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:28 am
- Contact: