Possible hyperlink bug
Possible hyperlink bug
Greetings Sergey,
A coworker found this.
Please load the attached RTF into a compiled demo using the latest RVF. I believe 18.3
Now save it without changing anything and now look at the RTF code. The hyperlink code appears to double for the unicode links.
Now load that one and save again. The hyperlink code appears to double again for the unicode links.
A coworker found this.
Please load the attached RTF into a compiled demo using the latest RVF. I believe 18.3
Now save it without changing anything and now look at the RTF code. The hyperlink code appears to double for the unicode links.
Now load that one and save again. The hyperlink code appears to double again for the unicode links.
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 17555
- Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:28 am
- Contact:
Re: Possible hyperlink bug
Sorry, I cannot reproduce the problem. At least, if I save RTF, open it, and save RTF again, these two new RTF files are identical.
Please tell me what's exactly wrong.
PS: there is one effect, which, I believe, is undesired: a path to RTF file is added to your custom hyperlinks, because the component thinks that these links are local.
There are two options to avoid it:
1) Assign RichView.RTFReadProperties.BasePathLinks := False
2) Or you can assign your own function to RVIsCustomURL variable from RVFileFuncs unit.
It is defined as
Assign a function that returns True for strings started from 'tw://'
Please tell me what's exactly wrong.
PS: there is one effect, which, I believe, is undesired: a path to RTF file is added to your custom hyperlinks, because the component thinks that these links are local.
There are two options to avoid it:
1) Assign RichView.RTFReadProperties.BasePathLinks := False
2) Or you can assign your own function to RVIsCustomURL variable from RVFileFuncs unit.
It is defined as
Code: Select all
type
TCustomRVIsURLFunction = function(const Word: TRVUnicodeString): Boolean;
const
RVIsCustomURL: TCustomRVIsURLFunction = nil;
Re: Possible hyperlink bug
Greetings Sergey. Thanks for the tip on the local link. I had turned that off.
When I load it in RVF 18.3 in a demo or tje component and save it to rtf. Then look at the code tje rtd for the unicode libk doubles. It looks fine in the RVF viewer but the underlying code in the rtf itself has the problem.
When I load it in RVF 18.3 in a demo or tje component and save it to rtf. Then look at the code tje rtd for the unicode libk doubles. It looks fine in the RVF viewer but the underlying code in the rtf itself has the problem.
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 17555
- Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:28 am
- Contact:
Re: Possible hyperlink bug
What do you mean by "doubled"?
Unicode characters may be duplicated by ANSI characters. This is an optional feature, it can be turned off by excluding rvrtfDuplicateUnicode
from RichView.RTFOptions.
But in any case, RTF must be correct. RTF readers that understand Unicode ignore duplicate ANSI characters, RTF readers that do not understand Unicode ignore Unicode characters.
Unicode characters may be duplicated by ANSI characters. This is an optional feature, it can be turned off by excluding rvrtfDuplicateUnicode
from RichView.RTFOptions.
But in any case, RTF must be correct. RTF readers that understand Unicode ignore duplicate ANSI characters, RTF readers that do not understand Unicode ignore Unicode characters.
Re: Possible hyperlink bug
I will try to send a screenshot. It doubles then doubles again for each load and save. Thank you for all you do.
Re: Possible hyperlink bug
Ah you are correct. No bug upon multiple tests. I think it is what you said this rvrtfDuplicateUnicode which is correct.
Thank you for working through this with us.
Thank you for working through this with us.
Re: Possible hyperlink bug
Ah I see I misunderstood my co-worker on this one.
Here is the actual situation.
Note these two lines:
Hyperlink from MS Word: (Edit after converted by RVF)
Hyperlink we make in our program:
For some reason only part of the unicode in the MS Word is coming through we are not sure why. Please note this unicode is polytonic greek. It is like the ansi is not getting fully converted. Is there a setting we have missed?
Here is the actual situation.
Note these two lines:
Hyperlink from MS Word: (Edit after converted by RVF)
Code: Select all
{\field{\*\fldinst HYPERLINK "tw://[strong]?t=\uc1\u7936 ?\u956 \'b5\u8053 ?\u957 ?\uc0"}{\fldrslt \plain \f6\ul\fs20\cf1 \u7936 }}
Code: Select all
{\field{\*\fldinst HYPERLINK "tw://[strong]?\uc1\u225 \'e1\u188 \'bc\u8364 \'80\u206 \'ce\u188 \'bc\u225 \'e1\u189 \'bd\u181 \'b5\u206 \'ce\u189 \'bd\uc0"}{\fldrslt \plain \f6\fs20\cf1 \u7936 }}
Last edited by jgkoehn on Sat Mar 28, 2020 9:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 17555
- Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:28 am
- Contact:
Re: Possible hyperlink bug
It's exactly what I described in my previous reply: for each Unicode character, its non-Unicode alternative is written. These non-Unicode characters are ignored by RTF readers that support Unicode in RTF (i.e. all modern rich text editors).
There are no cumulative duplication, just one Unicode character (\uNNN) followed by one non-Unicode character.
You can see, both TRichView and MS Word write these alternative non-Unicode characters ('?' in MS Word's RTF are these alternative characters as well).
If you exclude rvrtfDuplicateUnicode from RTFOptions, these non-Unicode alternative characters will not be written by TRichView. They are not necessary.
There are no cumulative duplication, just one Unicode character (\uNNN) followed by one non-Unicode character.
You can see, both TRichView and MS Word write these alternative non-Unicode characters ('?' in MS Word's RTF are these alternative characters as well).
If you exclude rvrtfDuplicateUnicode from RTFOptions, these non-Unicode alternative characters will not be written by TRichView. They are not necessary.
Re: Possible hyperlink bug
Greetings Sergey,
I think I understand. So when RVF reads a MS Word RTF it brings part of the code in as ?
Here is the same MS Word RTF for that code.
I think I understand. So when RVF reads a MS Word RTF it brings part of the code in as ?
Here is the same MS Word RTF for that code.
Code: Select all
{\field\fldedit{\*\fldinst {\rtlch\fcs1 \af38 \ltrch\fcs0 \lang2057\langfe1041\langnp2057\insrsid2912444 \hich\af38\dbch\af11\loch\f38
\hich\af38\dbch\af11\loch\f38 HYPERLINK "tw://[strong]?t=}{\rtlch\fcs1 \af38 \ltrch\fcs0 \lang2057\langfe1041\langnp2057\insrsid2912444 \loch\af38\dbch\af11\hich\f38 \u7936\'3f}{\rtlch\fcs1 \af428 \ltrch\fcs0
\f428\lang2057\langfe1041\langnp2057\insrsid2912444 \loch\af428\dbch\af11\hich\f428 \'ec}{\rtlch\fcs1 \af38 \ltrch\fcs0 \lang2057\langfe1041\langnp2057\insrsid2912444 \loch\af38\dbch\af11\hich\f38 \u8053\'3f}{\rtlch\fcs1 \af428 \ltrch\fcs0
\f428\lang2057\langfe1041\langnp2057\insrsid2912444 \loch\af428\dbch\af11\hich\f428 \'ed\loch\f428 "}{\rtlch\fcs1 \af38 \ltrch\fcs0 \lang2057\langfe1041\langnp2057\insrsid2912444 \hich\af38\dbch\af11\loch\f38 }{\rtlch\fcs1 \af38 \ltrch\fcs0
\lang2057\langfe1041\langnp2057\insrsid2912444 {\*\datafield
00d0c9ea79f9bace118c8200aa004ba90b0200000003000000e0c9ea79f9bace118c8200aa004ba90b42000000740077003a002f002f005b007300740072006f006e0067005d003f0074003d00001fbc03751fbd030000795881f43b1d7f48af2c825dc485276300000000a5ab0003}}}{\fldrslt {\rtlch\fcs1 \af38
\ltrch\fcs0 \cs53\ul\cf24\lang2057\langfe1041\langnp2057\insrsid2912444 \loch\af38\dbch\af11\hich\f38 \u7936\'3f}{\rtlch\fcs1 \af428 \ltrch\fcs0 \cs53\f428\ul\cf24\lang2057\langfe1041\langnp2057\insrsid2912444 \loch\af428\dbch\af11\hich\f428 \'ec}{
\rtlch\fcs1 \af38 \ltrch\fcs0 \cs53\ul\cf24\lang2057\langfe1041\langnp2057\insrsid2912444 \loch\af38\dbch\af11\hich\f38 \u8053\'3f}{\rtlch\fcs1 \af428 \ltrch\fcs0 \cs53\f428\ul\cf24\lang2057\langfe1041\langnp2057\insrsid2912444
\loch\af428\dbch\af11\hich\f428 \'ed}}}
Re: Possible hyperlink bug
Hmms,
This does seem to load correctly in other editors, so I'm wondering if the other app we are working with needs changed.
This does seem to load correctly in other editors, so I'm wondering if the other app we are working with needs changed.
Re: Possible hyperlink bug
Sorry to take so much of your time Sergey,
I am confused as to why both of these have the same greek characters in a unicode enabled rtf viewer. But the second one has quite a few more characters is this the doubling you mentioned?
I recognize the rtf unicode here:
\u7936 \u956 \u8053 \u957 <This line has much less (Is this just a different unicode format?)
\u225 \u188 \u8364 \u206 \u188 \u225 \u189 \u181 \u206 \u189 <This line has much more. (Is this just a different unicode format?)
I am confused as to why both of these have the same greek characters in a unicode enabled rtf viewer. But the second one has quite a few more characters is this the doubling you mentioned?
I recognize the rtf unicode here:
\u7936 \u956 \u8053 \u957 <This line has much less (Is this just a different unicode format?)
\u225 \u188 \u8364 \u206 \u188 \u225 \u189 \u181 \u206 \u189 <This line has much more. (Is this just a different unicode format?)
Code: Select all
{\field{\*\fldinst HYPERLINK "tw://[strong]?t=\uc1\u7936 ?\u956 \'b5\u8053 ?\u957 ?\uc0"}{\fldrslt \plain \f6\ul\fs20\cf1 \u7936 }}
Code: Select all
{\field{\*\fldinst HYPERLINK "tw://[strong]?\uc1\u225 \'e1\u188 \'bc\u8364 \'80\u206 \'ce\u188 \'bc\u225 \'e1\u189 \'bd\u181 \'b5\u206 \'ce\u189 \'bd\uc0"}{\fldrslt \plain \f6\fs20\cf1 \u7936 }}
Re: Possible hyperlink bug
Also some additional info from a co-worker.
(Edit fixed image) After savingYou need to compare the files in a text editor to see the code. Is it normal to make 3 HYPERLINK the same for each Greek word, and the G281 only has one HYPERLINK
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 17555
- Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:28 am
- Contact:
Re: Possible hyperlink bug
In this document, some characters are loaded as separate hyperlinks. I'll try to optimize it.
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 17555
- Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:28 am
- Contact:
Re: Possible hyperlink bug
As I said before, in this RTF, Unicode hyperlink is loaded in TRichView as several hypertext items. In TRichView, several hypertext items that have the same target are handled like a single hyperlink. When exporting to DocX, these items are saved as a single hyperlink as well. But when exporting to RTF, each item is saved as a separate hyperlink.
I re-checked this RTF. The link is loaded as several items because different characters in it have different Charsets.
TRichView has an option to ignore Charsets from RTF: assign RichView.RTFReadProperties.UseCharsetForUnicode = True. In this mode, RichView.RTFReadProperties.CharsetForUnicode will be applied to all text loaded from RTF, and this hyperlink will be loaded as a single item.
I modified RTF saving code. In the next update, adjacent hypertext items having the same target will be exported to RTF as a single hyperlink.
I re-checked this RTF. The link is loaded as several items because different characters in it have different Charsets.
TRichView has an option to ignore Charsets from RTF: assign RichView.RTFReadProperties.UseCharsetForUnicode = True. In this mode, RichView.RTFReadProperties.CharsetForUnicode will be applied to all text loaded from RTF, and this hyperlink will be loaded as a single item.
I modified RTF saving code. In the next update, adjacent hypertext items having the same target will be exported to RTF as a single hyperlink.
Re: Possible hyperlink bug
Thank you Sir, I can for now use the option you suggested as an option for the user. I look forward to the next update. Thanks for all your work. By the way I work with Jon Graef and Costas Stergiou at theword.net