RvHtmlImporter v0.0027 bugs
-
- Posts: 12
- Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 11:29 pm
RvHtmlImporter v0.0027 bugs
Hi,
I would be very interested in purchasing RichView, but I need to be able to save and load documents as HTML. The HTML export feature of TRichView is sufficient for me, but the import (via RvHtmlImporter v0.0027) is pretty buggy. For example, if I have the text:
This is a test.
When I export to HTML it's fine, but then when importing back, the spaces between different styles (i.e. the plain text, bold and italics) are removed. So I end up getting something like:
Thisisatest.
Has no one else come across this issue?
I realize the source code for RvHtmlImporter is available for free, but the whole point of me using TRichView would be so I don't have to spend hours to fix/code such stuff.
Thanks.
I would be very interested in purchasing RichView, but I need to be able to save and load documents as HTML. The HTML export feature of TRichView is sufficient for me, but the import (via RvHtmlImporter v0.0027) is pretty buggy. For example, if I have the text:
This is a test.
When I export to HTML it's fine, but then when importing back, the spaces between different styles (i.e. the plain text, bold and italics) are removed. So I end up getting something like:
Thisisatest.
Has no one else come across this issue?
I realize the source code for RvHtmlImporter is available for free, but the whole point of me using TRichView would be so I don't have to spend hours to fix/code such stuff.
Thanks.
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 17522
- Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:28 am
- Contact:
I cannot reproduce this problem with spaces. Please send me this HTML file to svt@trichview.com
-
- Posts: 12
- Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 11:29 pm
I sent you an email over a week ago regarding this issue, but still haven't gotten a reply. I will just post the important part of my email here:
I reproduced the problem using the importing and exporting in the ActionTest application from the TRichView website. I noticed that if I export it as "HTML - simplified" (not using CSS), then it imports correctly, but I would like to save it as the normal HTML w/CSS styles. The export works fine in both cases. The import is the problem (only when using CSS styles).
Thanks.
I reproduced the problem using the importing and exporting in the ActionTest application from the TRichView website. I noticed that if I export it as "HTML - simplified" (not using CSS), then it imports correctly, but I would like to save it as the normal HTML w/CSS styles. The export works fine in both cases. The import is the problem (only when using CSS styles).
Thanks.
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 17522
- Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:28 am
- Contact:
Sorry for delay (there was many problems while moving site to the new location, so it caused delays in answers).
Open RVHtmlImport.pas, find procedure WriteTSCR, change the first "if" (line 2217) to
Open RVHtmlImport.pas, find procedure WriteTSCR, change the first "if" (line 2217) to
Code: Select all
if (ts = ' ') and (GetCurParaNo>=0) then
s := ''
else
s := ts;
-
- Posts: 12
- Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 11:29 pm
Maybe I misunderstood your instructions, but I still have this issue.
In RVHtmlImport.pas, the first "if" (which is line 2216 for me) is:
It doesn't make much sense to replace that "if" with the code you provided above. I did notice the code you provided above is exactly what was already in the unit, commented on line 2212:
I tried uncommenting that comment, but I still get the same issue with spaces not getting imported correctly.
So am I misunderstanding your instructions, or did you maybe not test this change?
Thanks.
In RVHtmlImport.pas, the first "if" (which is line 2216 for me) is:
Code: Select all
if (s[i1] = #13) then
Code: Select all
{if ts = ' ' then s := '' else }s := ts;
So am I misunderstanding your instructions, or did you maybe not test this change?
Thanks.
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 17522
- Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:28 am
- Contact:
Sorry, line number was specified incorrectly
This new code must replace the line, {if ts = ' ' then s := '' else }s := ts; the first statement in WriteTSCR.
Note that is is not exactly the same as the commented code, "and (GetCurParaNo>=0)" is added.
But it's very strange, I cannot reproduce this problem with RvHtml v0.0027 any more, even without modification. But if I uncomment {if ts = ' ' then s := '' else }, this bug appears.
This new code must replace the line, {if ts = ' ' then s := '' else }s := ts; the first statement in WriteTSCR.
Note that is is not exactly the same as the commented code, "and (GetCurParaNo>=0)" is added.
But it's very strange, I cannot reproduce this problem with RvHtml v0.0027 any more, even without modification. But if I uncomment {if ts = ' ' then s := '' else }, this bug appears.
-
- Posts: 12
- Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 11:29 pm
Thanks, that fixed that issue.
Now I see another issue though. I have the following HTML generated from TRichView, but when I import it becomes "This is a test." instead of "This is a test." (notice the space before the word "test" being underlined; the exported HTML seems fine, it looks like another issue w/RvHtmlImporter):
Now I see another issue though. I have the following HTML generated from TRichView, but when I import it becomes "This is a test." instead of "This is a test." (notice the space before the word "test" being underlined; the exported HTML seems fine, it looks like another issue w/RvHtmlImporter):
Code: Select all
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN">
<html><head><title></title>
<meta http-equiv="Content-Style-Type" content="text/css">
<style type="text/css"><!--
body {
margin: 5px 5px 5px 5px;
background-color: #ffffff;
}
/* ========== Text Styles ========== */
hr { color: #000000}
body, table /* Normal */
{
font-size: 10pt;
font-family: 'Arial', 'Helvetica', sans-serif;
font-style: normal;
font-weight: normal;
color: #000000;
text-decoration: none;
;
}
span.rvts1
{
font-weight: bold;
}
span.rvts2
{
font-style: italic;
}
span.rvts3
{
text-decoration: underline;
}
span.rvts4
{
color: #000000;
}
span.rvts5
{
font-weight: bold;
color: #000000;
}
span.rvts6
{
font-style: italic;
color: #000000;
}
span.rvts7
{
color: #000000;
text-decoration: underline;
}
span.rvts8
{
font-style: italic;
font-weight: bold;
color: #000000;
}
/* ========== Para Styles ========== */
p,ul,ol /* Left */
{
text-align: left;
text-indent: 0px;
padding: 0px 0px 0px 0px;
margin: 0px 0px 0px 0px;
}
--></style>
</head>
<body>
<p><span class=rvts4>This is </span><span class=rvts5>a</span><span class=rvts4> </span><span class=rvts7>test</span><span class=rvts4>.</span></p>
</body></html>
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 17522
- Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:28 am
- Contact:
-
- Posts: 12
- Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 11:29 pm
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 17522
- Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:28 am
- Contact:
I just uploaded (for registered users) a class for reading HTML from THTMLViewer ( http://www.pbear.com )
-
- Posts: 12
- Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 11:29 pm
Thanks.
Is there any way I can test this without purchasing the product? The reason I think that would make sense is because without testing this I don't know if it is sufficient for my needs or if there are any other bugs.
I think it makes sense for it to be free for the same reason RvHtmlImporter is free. It's not really useful without the TRichView component, and this way people can evaluate the product better.
I just want to make it clear again that I will very likely purchase RichView if it can load documents correctly from HTML.
Is there any way I can test this without purchasing the product? The reason I think that would make sense is because without testing this I don't know if it is sufficient for my needs or if there are any other bugs.
I think it makes sense for it to be free for the same reason RvHtmlImporter is free. It's not really useful without the TRichView component, and this way people can evaluate the product better.
I just want to make it clear again that I will very likely purchase RichView if it can load documents correctly from HTML.
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 17522
- Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:28 am
- Contact:
Ok, you can download it here:
http://www.trichview.com/resources/html ... import.zip
Before installing, open rvHtmlViewImport, find and remove {$DEFINE RVFULL}
See also installation instructions in ReadMe.txt
http://www.trichview.com/resources/html ... import.zip
Before installing, open rvHtmlViewImport, find and remove {$DEFINE RVFULL}
See also installation instructions in ReadMe.txt
As chance would have it I am in exactly the same situation.
I would like to load HTML templates (with style tags!) into an RvRichView and print them out (my code will change the HTML accordingly as it is loaded). I like the way RvRichView handles printing etc.
The problem is that on the “HTML import” side of things I can simply get nothing to work apart from the earlier version of RvHTMLImport but style tags are a must.
I am reluctant to buy anything until I have seen it working. We use BDS 2006 using C++ (not Delphi, sorry)
Additionally I am concerned about having an add-on (RvRichEdit) with a dependant add-on (RvHTMLViewImport) and then another dependant add-on (THMLViewer) but I guess the benefits of it all working are more important.
So, any help for C++ Builder 2006? I desperately need to get something that works so I can this title on the market.
Regards,
James
I would like to load HTML templates (with style tags!) into an RvRichView and print them out (my code will change the HTML accordingly as it is loaded). I like the way RvRichView handles printing etc.
The problem is that on the “HTML import” side of things I can simply get nothing to work apart from the earlier version of RvHTMLImport but style tags are a must.
I am reluctant to buy anything until I have seen it working. We use BDS 2006 using C++ (not Delphi, sorry)
Additionally I am concerned about having an add-on (RvRichEdit) with a dependant add-on (RvHTMLViewImport) and then another dependant add-on (THMLViewer) but I guess the benefits of it all working are more important.
So, any help for C++ Builder 2006? I desperately need to get something that works so I can this title on the market.
Regards,
James
-
- Site Admin
- Posts: 17522
- Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2005 10:28 am
- Contact:
I must be getting confused about what to install.
In the zip there are these packages.
\rvHtmlViewImport2006.bdsproj
\THTML\pakage\FrameViewer2006.bdsproj
Do I need to install THML from pbear.com or is that included in your zip and follow the instructions in readme.txt with changing source etc?
I think I am confused because your zip also contains a FrameViewer2006 project and I may require some fool proof instructions on how it all hooks up.
James
In the zip there are these packages.
\rvHtmlViewImport2006.bdsproj
\THTML\pakage\FrameViewer2006.bdsproj
Do I need to install THML from pbear.com or is that included in your zip and follow the instructions in readme.txt with changing source etc?
I think I am confused because your zip also contains a FrameViewer2006 project and I may require some fool proof instructions on how it all hooks up.
James